Matthew Reinhart and Robert Sabuda

Matthew Reinhart and Robert Sabuda  are popular pop-up book designers and are highly skilled in paper manipulation and engineering.

I find the pop-up element is always the dominant feature on each page and this helps to communicate as much of the story visually. I intend to use some of the techniques that are applied so that the use of text may become redundant in my own pop-up.

Most of their work is based on child-like, fantasy themes as this allows them to be more extravagant with their designs.   Their paper engineering is not limited to just using paper, often pieces of dowel or string are incorporated in order to create the optimum movement. I would like to use a variety of materials to produce my own pop-ups.  This will allow me to create a more tactile piece and help to portray the story I am trying to get across.

Leave a Reply

