Spirograph

I thought about the different ways I could use textiles in my work and one of the most interesting I found was through the use of threads.  Most people imagine a sculpture you can move through as being an architectural installation produced on a large-scale, often outside, using more robust materials.  So by using thread for the construction it is rather contrasting, as it is a smaller, finer medium more suited to a sculptural installation within an art gallery.

I began to experiment with the different types of shapes and patterns I could make using thread.

Afterwards, I noticed that these had a strong link to spirograph patterns.

Leave a Reply

